Were you aware that chakras were discovered thousands of years ago?

Chakra stones, also known as crystals or gemstones, have become quite popular in recent years. This is due to their association with the chakra system and their potential to promote balance and well-being.

If you love jewelry and would love to make your collection more healing, it’s worth digging into chakra stones. Read on to learn about chakra jewelry, its benefits, and its fascinating history.

What Are Your Chakras?

Before diving into choosing and wearing chakra stones, it’s essential to understand the basics of the chakra system. Your chakras are the energy centers within your body that are believed to play a vital role in your physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

These energy centers are interconnected and responsible for the flow of energy throughout your entire being.

The Chakra System

There are seven prominent chakras in your system. Each comes with specific qualities and aspects of your life. Here’s a brief overview of each chakra and its significance:

1. The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

You can find this chakra at the base of your spine. The color that represents it is red. It’s associated with stability, grounding, and survival instincts.

2. The Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)

This chakra is in the lower abdomen. Orange represents it. It’s associated with creativity, passion, and sexual energy.

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This chakra exists in your upper abdomen. The color that represents it is yellow. It’s associated with personal power, confidence, and self-esteem.

4. The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is in the center of the chest. It’s represented by the color green. It’s associated with love, compassion, and emotional balance.

5. The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

You can find this chakra in your throat. Blue represents it. It’s associated with speaking your truth, self-expression, and communication.

6. The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

This one exists in the center of your forehead and it’s represented by the color indigo. It’s associated with intuition, inner wisdom, and spiritual awareness.

7. The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

You can find the crown chakra on the top of your head. Violet or white can represent it. It’s associated with higher consciousness, spirituality, and enlightenment.

What Are Chakra Stones?

Chakra stones are specific gemstones or crystals that people believe to correspond to the energy centers within the human body known as chakras. According to ancient Indian spiritual traditions, the chakra system consists of the seven main chakras that were just outlined.

People think that chakra stones possess vibrational properties that can align, balance, and cleanse the chakras. By wearing or placing these stones on the body, you can enhance the energy flow within the chakras. This promotes physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

Chakra Jewelry: A Fashionable Connection to Energy

Chakra jewelry has become a popular way to incorporate chakra stones into everyday life. These pieces are designed with specific gemstones corresponding to each chakra. It allows individuals to benefit from the properties of these stones while making a fashion statement.

Chakra jewelry often includes necklaces, bracelets, rings, and earrings. The choice of jewelry depends on personal preference and the desired chakra to work on.

For example, a necklace with a pendant containing a stone representing the throat chakra can help promote effective communication. A bracelet with stones corresponding to the heart chakra may aid in fostering love and compassion. You can find a chakra bracelet for sale here to see what’s out there.

Choosing the Right Chakra Stones

When selecting chakra stones, it’s crucial to consider both the properties of the stone and the specific chakra you intend to work on. Here are a few popular chakra stones and their associated chakras:

  1. Root Chakra: Red Jasper, Smoky Quartz, Hematite
  2. Sacral Chakra: Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Moonstone
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra: Citrine, Tiger’s Eye, Amber
  4. Heart Chakra: Rose Quartz, Green Aventurine, Rhodonite
  5. Throat Chakra: Blue Lace Agate, Sodalite, Aquamarine
  6. Third Eye Chakra: Amethyst, Lapis Lazuli, Fluorite
  7. Crown Chakra: Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Selenite

It’s essential to trust your intuition when choosing chakra stones. If you’re drawn to a particular stone or feel a connection with it, it’s likely that it resonates with the energy of the corresponding chakra.

Wearing and Working with Chakra Stones

Once you’ve chosen your chakra stones, there are several ways to incorporate them into your daily routine. Here’s some inspiration:


As mentioned earlier, chakra jewelry is a popular option. Choose a piece that contains the stone associated with the chakra you wish to balance or enhance.


You can meditate with chakra stones by placing them on the corresponding chakra while lying down or holding them in your hands. Visualize the energy flowing smoothly through the chakra, bringing balance and harmony.


Another method is to place chakra stones on specific areas of the body during rest or sleep. For example, you can place a stone on the heart chakra while lying down or under your pillow at night.

Elixir or Infusion

You can use some chakra stones to make gemstone elixirs or infusions by placing them in water overnight. You can consume the energized water or use it topically for various purposes.

Remember to cleanse and recharge your chakra stones often to maintain their effectiveness. You can do this with the following methods:

  • Rinsing them under running water
  • Placing them in sunlight or moonlight
  • Using smudging, sound, or other cleansing methods

The History of Chakras

The concept of chakras originated in ancient Indian spiritual traditions and has been passed down through various texts, including the Vedas and Upanishads. The earliest mention of chakras can be traced back to the Vedas, which are ancient Sanskrit scriptures dating back over 3,500 years.

The understanding and significance of chakras expanded and evolved over time. It was through the practice of yoga and the teachings of Indian sages that the chakra system gained prominence in spiritual and healing practices. Today, chakras are recognized and utilized not only in Eastern philosophies but also in Western alternative medicine and holistic practices.

Embrace the Journey of Chakra Stones

Choosing and wearing chakra stones can be a transformative experience. By understanding everything outlined in this chakra guide, you can embark on a journey of self-discovery, healing, and personal growth.

Want to dig deeper into awesome fashion trends? Scroll through the rest of our content.